Practice of Purpose

Practice of Purpose

candleYesterday Lisa, over on Lisa’s notes wrote about ‘Why? The Practice of Purpose’. She shared a heart warming story about Hank and how he had found purpose even though he was a child in a full-grown man’s body. Lisa then goes on to talk about how during the month of September she is going to spend time watching others who live On Purpose so she can follow their example.

Anyhow, what Lisa shared stayed with me into the evening and as i sat and shared dinner with my daughter it came to my mind yet again and i shared the essence of the blog post with her. I had spent the day pondering on how i could Practice a Life with Purpose and as i shared this thought with my daughter, she quickly replied, ‘but you already do’.

After a little more discussion it appears that my daughter believes that i already live a life of Purpose. It is quite a daunting thought to realize that although you feel you can improve others see that you are already living your life that way. Lisa states that ‘loving is our purpose’ and loving everyone no matter who they are, where we are or what we have.’ That is very big statement to me. It hit home to me and dwelt within me. It also added to the thoughts i had on Sunday, where something changed within me.

I often tell others that i no longer have a heart, as what my ex-husband didn’t break, Danielle took with her when she died. But, maybe out of the darkness there is hope. Maybe even though i do not see how i care for others myself, others are see what i am doing. What i am not noticing, others are. This to me is The Practice of Purpose.

I may not have a lot, but i give what i can. I may not be able to do too much, but i do what i can.

I guess the one thing i can say is this – that to be right with your fellowman you first have to be right with God. That through Christ’s Atoning sacrifice all will be healed, if not in this life than in the life to come. All we need to do is take on board the Practice of Purpose and practice it every day. Think small, not big.

One of my favourite scriptures has to be –

‘Ye are the light of the world, a city that is set on a hill cannot be hid. Neither does a man light a candle and hide it under a bushel, but sets it on a candle stick and it giveth light unto all that are in the house. Let your light so shine, that those around you may see your good works and glorify your Father, which is in heaven’ (paraphrased, but i think it’s nearly right) Matt 5)

4 thoughts on “Practice of Purpose

  1. Amen! We are called to live for Christ. His two greatest commandments were to love God and love others. When we do that we are living lives with an eternal purpose. Blessings!

  2. I agree with your daughter–you already are living your life with purpose. You love God and you share that love with others, including me. We don’t have to be ministering to throngs of people in order to be useful–we just need to love those God has put in our lives. That’s a job enough. 🙂

    1. I didn’t leave a comment on your post as it hit me with force and made me stand back and think, but thank you. You are right sometimes we think we need to be doing the ‘big’ things when really the little ones count just as much.

Leave a Reply

