Time Wasters

Time Wasters

Sudoku_PreviewLent day 3

I have a game downloaded to my phone, which i seem to have to play a level or two of every time i come anywhere near my phone. It is one of those games where you slide three or more of the same shape together and they explode, it even comes with it’s own annoying repetitive tune. I know when i have been playing it too long as the cat comes and pounces on me, i think he’s trying to tell me that tune is getting on his nerves.

The first levels would last 3-5 minutes but now they can last up to 20 minutes and who knows what is round the corner, 30 minutes, maybe? You may be thinking that it’s okay to waste a little time now and then and i would agree, but i have found this game causing me to waste time when it is more prudent not to. Playing three levels when it was 3-5 minutes a level just before i was turning the light out was one thing, but spending an hour playing the same number of levels is not. The other thing i have noticed, is that i can wake up from a dream in the night with images from the game pinging around in my head.

I have also noticed that my meditation time, which was doing me some good and helping me to sleep, as gone missing due to the game. Also i tell myself i’ll play one level and then read my scriptures or even a secular book only to find that 3 levels later i am out of time. The game can make my hands worse, more pain, more stiffness in the joints. The game itself is harmless, but yet it is causing me to waste valuable time and is teaching me nothing in return. So for the next 38 days at least it has got to go.

Now don’t get me wrong, i do not think that these little games are evil on their own, it is the hold that they can have on us that can become an evil. However we should use our time wisely to learn good things and not just things of God, but things of the world also. In Doctrine and Covenants, a book of scripture that is known by the members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints but possible not so well by those outside the church has the following to say about gaining intelligence or learning;

‘And i give unto you a commandment that you shall teach one another the doctrine of the kingdom.

Of things both in heaven and in the earth and under the earth; things which have been, things which are, things which must shortly come to pass; things which are at home, things which are abroad; wars and perplexities of the nations, and the judgments which are on the land, and a knowledge also of countries and kingdoms – ‘ (D&C 88:77-79)

There are many things to learn in this life that will be of more benefit to me and to others than playing a game that wastes several hours a day. You don’t believe me? There is approximately 34 houses on my side of the street, if in each house there are two adults and each adult plays the game for two hours a day and there are six rows of houses all the same, how many hours are being wasted? 34x2x2x6=816 hours!! (That’s just 2 hours a day).

– make time for some quiet contemplation, for meditation, for prayer and for scripture reading

– learn something new

– read more

– play paper puzzle games such as, Sudoku or a crossword, not everything has to be about being busy-busy.

Is there something that eats away at your time and is there a way to change it?

Print friendly Sudoku, easy crossword (?)

4 thoughts on “Time Wasters

    1. I am glad you have found me again. I think WordPress does something horrid and people and blogs vanish and you have to go hunt them down again, well that’s my experience.

  1. Your header says it all Beverley.. Lol….. I am pleased you saw it was overtaking…We can enjoy pastimes without them stopping us from doing other things… I am pleased you are still practising meditation and it was aiding your sleep…. I know you will always make time for prayer…. Much love sent your way…xx

Leave a Reply

