Be Your Own Best Self

Be Your Own Best Self

Day 7 of Lent – Put off the worlds view of yourself and take on the view that your Heavenly Father has of you, ‘And God made man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.’ (Gen 1:27) ‘What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him? For thou hast made him a little lower than the angels and hast crowned him with glory and honour, ‘ (Psalms 8:4-5)

my family

I would like you to meet my sister, Carole, the one on the right. Carole is always saying that she wants to be included in anything that i write and so here she is!

This photo was taken a few years ago, but i show it now because it illustrates a point. The point is this; i am not my sister and my sister is not me!

I recently took this photo to church and showed it to my little class of 6 and 7 years old children. The lesson was on families and the fact that Jesus had a family too. One of the first things that my class mentioned has i held up the photo was, ‘why do you look like that lady?’

A very valid question don’t you agree? However instead of saying she is my sister Carole i said, ‘why do you think she looks like me?’

One bright spark replied, ‘well she can’t be your mum!’ I am sure Carole is pleased that my class do not think she looks old enough to be my mum!! But i replied ‘nope, she’s not my mum! Who else might look like me?’

Quizzical little faces looking back at me remained silent, which is a first has they do tend to chatter some what, especially when i want them to listen. It just so happens that i have sisters in my class and in the end i asked them to stand at the front facing everyone else and i asked, ‘Do you think these two look alike?’

‘Yes’ came the reply with a nodding of heads.

‘Why do they look like each other?’ I asked.

‘Because they are sisters!?’ came a rather shaky reply.

‘Yes’, i replied, ‘but are they exactly alike?’

‘No!’

‘Then who do you think this person is?’ I asked pointing to the person stood next to me in the photo.

‘Is it your sister?’ They all chorused.

‘Yes it is!’ I replied.

I went on to explain that although sister’s or brothers can look like each other we are unlikely to be exactly alike unless we are identical twins.

Therefore if my sister looks like me, but isn’t me, then who is she? That’s easy really! She’s her own best self.

In a world where we are constantly bombarded by the media to look a certain way and to act a certain way and even think a certain way it is good to know that I can be who I was meant to be. Today i mentioned to some friends, that my life feels like a ‘Junk drawer’, where everything has been dumped in one thing after another and sometimes many things at once and it is difficult to sort through everything and how it would be easier to just tip the drawer up side down and throw everything away and start again. But, then i was reminded that along with the jumbled mess was me and i really can’t go throwing myself away now, can I?

It is so difficult to be who we really are in the world today to be who we are supposed to be, but just for Lent – Be Your Own Best Self.

3 thoughts on “Be Your Own Best Self

  1. You and Carole do look alike! I love how you used this as a lesson with your children’s class. And as a lesson for us too. As sisters we may favor, but we are still different too. And that’s a good thing, a God thing.

    1. Sometimes it is difficult for children to equate the baby Jesus with the man Jesus and yet letting them know he was a little child like them once is a testimony to them.

Leave a Reply

