‘Six Impossible Things’

‘Six Impossible Things’

alice-with-queen-of-heartsDay 9

“Alice laughed. ‘There’s no use trying,’ she said. ‘One can’t believe impossible things.’

I daresay you haven’t had much practice,’ said the Queen. ‘When I was your age, I always did it for half-an-hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast. There goes the shawl again!” (Alice in Wonderland)

Life as a way of making us disbelieve in ourselves!

I could leave things like that and let you work out the rest for yourself. However…we are often asked from one source or another where we would like to see ourselves in five years time, but next we are told to live in the moment and not rush through our lives. So who is right?

The thing is our brains/minds are more than capable of having us believe just about anything and everything but that doesn’t mean that those things will ever be so. In fact in my dreams I have been up Everest and been chased through the jungle by a tiger. Fortunately or maybe unfortunately I haven’t experienced either. Since I have been unable to work my world has become very narrow and small and I find myself verging on agoraphobia and fearful of becoming a recluse.

Recently i have been thinking of myself as ‘none person’; being a person who gives nothing back. I know there are things I do each week, which makes a lie out of that statement but I have given up the urge to think impossible things. But as this is Lent and Lent is a time of giving up one thing for something better or of fasting in the faith that the blessings will come once Lent is over. The true meaning of Lent being to prepare men for death and the resurrection through Jesus Christ. But our whole life is in preparation for Eternal life and exaltation not just 40 days of lent.

So your challenge is to think up and complete wherever possible six impossible things today. Yes, that’s right I said today!

I did try it yesterday and on one occasion I was thwarted by the absence of a bus, which didn’t turn up and in the end I had to get a taxi. You see walking is a very difficult some days and it’s not about pain so much as it is about weariness, which is beyond me to do anything about even if I sleep well. I also wanted to re-pot a plant who is in obvious difficulties and if I don’t do something for it soon it will die, the supermarket I was at didn’t have the soil I needed. Hoping to sort that out today instead. I wanted to eat food. I can already hear you saying but everyone eats food, well most people do but when it’s agony to stand for more than 10 minutes at a time cooking becomes a chore and not pleasure, but I managed a simple frittata in the end.

I wanted to sort out my wardrobe. I have replaced several old things and taken some of the clothes out that are getting too big for me. Yes clothes that are too big are a comfort and a joy but sometimes with little or no spare money to replace things you have to make do. I am now back to 30 items and then some shoes and outer clothes, which is more manageable for me. I also managed to go on Facebook and add myself and my daily photos to the #100 days of happy. I wanted to do so before when it first started but the whole thing seemed impossible to me, but yesterday was the day it happened. I also managed to shop in Asda and not buy any sugar. I still have some sugary treats in my bedside cupboard but at least I haven’t added to my stash.

I think if I have one long term impossible thing,  it would be to give up sugar, starting with anything that contains obvious sugar. How about you?

Leave a Reply

