One drop at a time

One drop at a time

catMy friend, Heron shared this on Facebook, which fits where i am right now so i thought i would share it here.

Daniel Waples – Hang in Balance in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Apparently: A psychologist walked around a room while teaching stress management to an audience. As she raised a glass of water, everyone expected they’d be asked the “half empty or half full” question. Instead, with a smile on her face, she enquired: “How heavy is this glass of water?”

Answers called out ranged from 8 oz. to 20 oz.

She replied, “The absolute weight doesn’t matter. It depends on how long I hold it. If I hold it for a minute, it’s not a problem. If I hold it for an hour, I’ll have an ache in my arm. If I hold it for a day, my arm will feel numb and paralyzed. In each case, the weight of the glass doesn’t change, but the longer I hold it, the heavier it becomes.”

She continued, “The stresses and worries in life are like that glass of water. Think about them for a while and nothing happens. Think about them a bit longer and they begin to hurt. And if you think about them all day long, you will feel paralyzed – incapable of doing anything.”

Remember to put the glass down.

I added the following comment: yes i agree, but that doesn’t mean that you can let go off it (the glass) it is more like tipping the water out one drop at a time.

Depression is an evil beast with many heads, bodies, tails and disguises, no one will be affected in the same way you are and no one can be treated in the same way either. However medical physicians and psychologists are just beginning to understand this fact, that one treatment does not fit all.

But for today what drop will you let go off?

For me i am having lunch with a friend called Susan. Not only am i having lunch with her we are going out for lunch. Two days ago i was in a panic over the fact that she had asked me, yet i have known her 20 years, but we do not live in the same country anymore and therefore do not stay in touch as much as we should. However i know i do not need to explain myself to her as she already knows me.

Then there is this to make you smile:

4 thoughts on “One drop at a time

  1. That’s a great story; I know I hold on to the glass too long and let it get very heavy.

    I hope your lunch went well today (I assume it’s over now due to our time difference). It’s nice to have friends that we can pick up with right where are instead of having to do a lot of catch-up with. It sounds like Susan might be one of those friends.

    And happy blog anniversary! 🙂

  2. I am so pleased you had a great day out with your friend.. and that is a good analogy to relate to not hanging onto things as the longer we hold onto them the heavier a burden they become..

    I loved the Cat video too Beverley, and got lost in the other video’s after it had finished.. Big Smiles..
    Hope you had a Sunny Day today 🙂

    1. This link came via a friend so i cannot lay claim to finding it myself, however i have a number of words in my head at the moment and a number of thoughts, which i keep having to pull into order, but it all comes down to ‘what one thing can i do today in order to help myself?

      xxx

Leave a Reply

