Book Pile

Book Pile

StackOfBooksIt’s the 1st August! Now how did that happen?

Although i have decided on a few books to read over this next month, but as books have a way of jumping out at you when you least expect it i cannot guarantee that the end will be the same as the beginning!!

July Reading

I spent most of July finishing all the half read books or deciding to put them down and be done with them altogether, but i read/finished the following –

  • Teach Us To Sit Still: A Skeptics Search for Health and Healing – Tim Parks *****
  • We Are Not Ourselves – Matthew Thomas ***
  • The God of Small Things – Arundhati Roy **
  • Cleaning House: A Mom’s Twelve Months Experiment to Rid her Children of Entitlement – Kay Willis Wyma ****
  • The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt ****

Started reading in July (last few days)

  • The Examined Life – Stephen Grosz
  • The Fitting Room – Kelly Minter (this is a re-read)

For August

  • Predictably Irrational – Dan Ariely
  • The Upside of Irrationality – Dan Ariely
  • The Waiting Room – Alysha Kay
  • Yarn Harlot – Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
  • Emotion Code – Bradley Nelson

However expect changes, substitutions and added volumes, because some times you just have to read in the moment.

So what are you reading? Do you have any planned reading? Are you a cereal box reader?

11 thoughts on “Book Pile

    1. I love cereal, still eat it for breakfast and supper – have to take pills before bed – nothing like it, but never read the packets these days, never read the packet of anything these days i think too much knowledge can be a bad things x

    1. my stack of books never gets any smaller – i take one of the top only for another to appear at the bottom, i do try and keep them in order but really they tend to do what they like and then someone kindly buy me new books or the book group says we are reading… and the whole plan just falls to pieces πŸ˜€

      1. I don’t like the shop bought either. Doesn’t have enough fiber or something to it. My wife makes some mighty fine granola though. πŸ˜€

  1. I always like seeing your list, Beverley. Lots of interesting titles here. I read Predictably Irrational last year (or sometimes) and really enjoyed it. I didn’t know about The Upside of Irrationality. I’ll have to see if my library carries that one.

    1. My daughter is reading Predictably Irrational and says it is good and i managed to pick up his second book at the library so decided to read both.

  2. Lovely book list Beverley.. Its taken me 2 weeks just to read a short novel as I pick it up and put it down, inbetween the gardening, freezing, work days, and chores.. LOL.. But I really enjoyed it was one I had not read before I picked up from a charity shop it was Catherine Cookson’s Hannah Massey .. Which had a surprise ending I hadn’t expected . πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

