Morning

Morning

sleepWithout really working at it I have created for myself a morning routine, which is helping me work towards normality, whatever that may mean. It is really difficult to think about getting up every day when you are in pain and haven’t slept well, even when you have to go to work and yet at some point we all need to get out of bed.

Living on my own as made getting out of bed a must, something i must do to survive. There is no magic fairy and no Mary maid who comes to clean or make dinner, there is just me. When my daughter and I stayed in an hotel in Liverpool the one thing i loved was the cooked breakfast. Breakfast ready made, in front of me ready to eat. Although the breakfast was simple bacon, eggs, beans, tomatoes, toast, cereal, etc i felt so much better after eating it every day.

Mornings should set you up for the day to come, the first thing you need to do is change your attitude. It is so easy to feel down and discouraged when the day is looming ahead of you and you wretched. You may not be able to improve how your body feels but you can work on how your mind feels.

A number of years ago i went to see a counsellor who advised me to give each new day a score out of 10 – 1 being the worse and 10 being the best. She also said that most people scored between 5 and 7 on an average day and only experienced anything higher on very special occasions. Her other advice was that unless it was a 1-day you had to get out of bed, even if you didn’t stay out of bed. It is in the act of taking charge of the day and of your thoughts about the day that you will feel more in control of your life.

As i mentioned already my morning has taken on a life of it’s own and goes something like this –

  • bathroom visit
  • feed the cat
  • breakfast
  • back to bed and take pills
  • eat
  • read
  • scriptures
  • prayers
  • meditation
  • bath
  • dressed for the day
  • rest
  • 5+5+5

but of course all this falls to bits when it is a 1-day and then i do the minimum and stay in bed all day and my little routine will take me until lunch to complete or even later.

5 thoughts on “Morning

  1. Good for you. I ave to say that I am a lover of routines, it helps keep me focused and feel in control. By the way as the saying goes, normal is just a setting on the washing machine. x

    1. i am trying to get out of bed at least some of the time, i cannot see of what possible good can come of staying in bed all day, every day. I like the washing machine setting idea – might have to borrow it!

  2. I’ve always believed that the measure of a person is in sufferings they’ve endured rather than the goals they’ve achieved. And suffering sounds like something you’ve experienced and yet refuse to be completely defeated by. Good for you, that’s true bravery.

    What you say about routine is so true, it’s not something I’ve always recognised but of late I am truly learning the value of it.

Leave a Reply

