Read, read, read

Read, read, read

3d-man-readingI remember being able to read by the time i was six years old and by the time i was eight i could read just about anything. I have four siblings and as a child there wasn’t much money going spare for things like books, but we were encouraged to go to the library often and borrow them and read them. Back then of course life was simpler and quieter and there was more time to read and less television, also parent’s didn’t have a veto a book before a child could read it and there was no such thing as teenage books either, teenagers were children until they became adults after they left school.

Unfortunately there are too many books today that are not good for anyone to read, child or adult and yet we are almost obsessed by them and there is this urgent need to read such books and then shout, scream and wave your arms in the air saying you have done so. Almost like a badge of honour or a trophy. 

However we do not need to read these things, we do not need to feel bad when we state clearly that these things are not good and we should seek after that which is good. The Apostle Paul wrote the following to the Philippians 

‘Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if they be any virtue, if they be any praise, think on these things.’

Whatever we clutter our minds with, we will most certainly think on those things, whatever they may be. I am not saying that the only book you should read is scripture, but i am saying read something that builds knowledge or/and leaves a good feeling inside you. I know my view of what is acceptable is different to the world’s, but a good book does not contain ‘sludge’. 

I am not going to state what you should read, you are all adults and can chose for yourself, but ask yourself these questions; ‘Would you let a young child read it?’ Would you be embarrassed to tell someone else what you were reading?

What are you reading? Or what have you just read? 

Just Read: The Beach House – Mary Alice Monroe

Reading: False Impression – Jeffrey Archer

2 thoughts on “Read, read, read

  1. Being discerning about what we read is always an apt discussion. I recently stopped reading “Thinking, Fast and Slow” not because it was bad or boring, but it was just too much for my brain in this season. Stopping a book that I’ve started is a huge thing to me, so I was proud of myself. 🙂 Your questions to ask ourselves are good. I just finished Brene Brown’s “Daring Greatly” and I can highly recommend it to anyone.

    1. I attended a book group that was supporting those with mental health problems, a few years back, and one of the things i came away from it with, is that it is okay to stop reading a book in the middle. I like to read something that makes me think, filled my spirit and even soul when i can and there are enough good books out there for everyone so that we do not need to read ‘the others’. I am trying not to say ‘bad’ as i know it is just my opinion but some books are bad.

Leave a Reply

