Looking back

Looking back

house by the seaSometimes we need to look back so we can see where we are going. Although it sounds like a contrary statement, it is something we all do quite naturally. Our minds work in such a way they are either thinking about the past or the future and yet there are some people who think we should not do that, do what? Do something that is natural to man. We can learn so much from our past and the past of others and by learning we can avoid the same pitfalls in the future. We will often do things and then realise a little down the way that what we did was not a good thing and if we are lucky we can change course and go in a different direction in the future.

I have noticed that things come to me sometimes in what seems to be slightly odd ways, but they add a dimension to my life and sometimes even a new direction. I am a writer. I am forever writing things in notebooks and then laying the books to one side and forgetting about them and then finding them again and thinking WOW that was such a good idea why didn’t i follow up on that?

So this is what i wrote in a notebook in January of this year to the question ~ WHAT DO YOU SEE YOURSELF DOING IN 5 YEARS TIME? – Try it, see what you get. Start each thought with ‘I am… ‘ and not ‘I would like to…‘ as if you are already doing it, as if it is already part of your life. I have worked my thoughts around a day, but you can make it more general.

5 years from today

Amelia is 6 and a half

Ava is 6

When i wake up in the morning i am stiff but the pain is not too bad. I visit the bathroom and have a shower.
Feed the cat. Drink a glass of water with lemon juice.
Meditate. Read scriptures and pray. I can sit crossed legged on the floor cushion now, most days.
I eat a good breakfast, eggs, toast and herbal tea.
I get dressed for the day. Take some fruit and juice and head for a slow walk round the park. I still have to rest in places but i get all the way round now.
I head home to read and answer emails and write.
I eat lunch salad, vegetables and yoghurt
Cleaning and things that need doing around the house.
Rest, nap, read or watch TV program or film
or visit family or friends, be involved in a group, make church visits.
Eat dinner
By 9pm i have silence.
I meditate
I read
lights out no later than 11pm

(these next two are new ones but very relevant)

I am a published author and life is good.

I have moved house and live by the sea.

It is interesting to look back on things and think ‘Am I doing these things?’ ‘Are these things relevant still. What do i need to change if anything and what do i need to do next?’

These are my goals, this is my purpose.

In January i began meditating laying flat, then half sitting, then sitting on the bed, then on a chair, always supported, then semi crossed legged on the bed or the sofa and now crossed legged on a meditation cushion on the floor. I have begun to take a walk in the park, it is not every day, but it is a start. I stopped most of the pills that were not helping and were making things worse. I do not sleep every night, but i am trying to have silence by 9pm. Other things need more work, but i am working on them. There are times when we know we need to change things in our lives to make it better and yet we allow other people to convince us not too. I would say change what you have to, to make your life more liveable for you, change it slowly one step or even half a step at a time and don’t be put off by failure, we all fail but we are not failures unless we fail to get up again. Keep getting up, keep moving forward.

Where do you want to be in 5 years time? What does your life look like? What do you want it to look like?

4 thoughts on “Looking back

  1. So strange that i actually startes thinkingthat way myseld recently. I little bit each day can become a lot. You meditating crossed legged is amazing i mean some wouldnt get it but i do. And some od the park days can be amelia days too. I started walking round the block to help amelia sleep at 11pm i then decided to jog. The pushchair took it and now i have done it again 2days later. πŸ™‚ keep going mum x

  2. Brilliant Goals and purpose Beverley.. always good to have focus on where we want to be.. πŸ™‚ Painfree— for one.. .. at the moment for me in 5 yrs time I will be 65… Just being as nimble and enjoying life, art and hobbies, in togetherness with my hubby would be just wonderful.. πŸ™‚ Who would in 5 yrs be then 72.. So more of the same please.. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

