Day 9 – Set

Day 9 – Set

google.com_.LeanGoal2You need to learn to set goals. Now it is no use setting goals that someone else is trying to achieve, you need to set the goals that are appropriate for you and you alone. As all people with Fibromyalgia and those that are close to them know the symptoms are very disabling and distressing at times as you often have to give up the life you once had. However you can create a new life, but it needs to take into account all that is going on now at this moment and not what was happening some time ago.

Here a few goals i have set this year and you may like to consider –

Learn to meditate

I have been meditating most days since January this year and although i originally learnt to meditate some years ago i stopped practising due to the pain and fatigue just after i was diagnosed nearly four years ago. However since i began again i have come to realise that practising often has made it possible for me to listen to what my body is telling me and release some of the tension within the joints, ligaments, tendons and muscles allowing movement to be easier.

Create a positive attitude

When we are faced with something that is life altering we grieve and when we are diagnosed with an illness we cannot get away from or change, it is no different. You need to go through the stages of grief and for me they were not like the ones written in any book i had ever read as there was no structure or order to them, they seemed to roll in like waves, some small and some huge and all consuming. But when the waves of grief roll as they most surely will from time to time i found that having back up plans of escape, have helped me cope, some of these plans for me have been; have a bath, have a nap, have lunch with a friend, get outside, visit someone, spend time with my granddaughters or children, take a book and drink hot chocolate in one of the trending coffee shops, read a good book or scripture and of course prayer.

Create a mantra

A a mantra is either one word or a collection of words or sentences that bring you back to the moment and allows you to pause and breath when life gets too much. It needs to be something you can remember easily and not forget. Mine is

‘I am safe. I have a house to live in, food to eat and clean water to drink. I am safe.’ 

Keep a symptoms journal

I have spoken about this recently. Write down how you feel not just on the bad days but on the better days too. Add medication and medical visits. I found it useful to re-read some of it when i have had a string of really bad days together because i know that in the past i have had good days and they will come round again. It will also be useful for when you have to fill in all those forms that say – when do you get …(symptom) and how often… I am sure you know what i mean.

Set goals that are perfect for you.

Right now i am working on my diet, which has increasingly become rubbish, but is improving slowly.

One thought on “Day 9 – Set

  1. I’ve been making a more concerted effort lately to meditate also. I do feel more centered when I do. I love your mantra. I don’t have one as concrete as that, but I can see how it would be helpful so I may work on it. Thanks for sharing your goals.

Leave a Reply

