Day 11- Teach

Day 11- Teach

This is a photo of my grandfather Hubert Hirst and grandmother Lily Morton in about 1940. My cousin gave me a copy of this photo and it is the only photo i have of them when they were younger.
This is a photo of my grandfather Hubert Hirst and grandmother Lily Morton in about 1940. My cousin gave me a copy of this photo and it is the only photo i have of them when they were younger.

There is one thing, at least, i have become very good at over the years and now i teach it to just about anyone who will listen and that is Family History.

For most people finding their ancestors is not that difficult, it just takes time and patience. I have found over the years that you will know you have the right family line when it all fits together, it is almost as if those on the other side are trying to help you, actually from my own past experiences i know that they are. To me family is very important and as a church we believe that families can be together forever through Heavenly Father’s plan.

However to begin with start with what you know and i would buy a big book that you cannot remove the pages from easily. Collect information from relatives and even the most random name may mean something so write it down. You may not know who the people are in the photographs but someone else might. Everyone older than you already deceased? You may find that your cousins know more than you think, especially when it comes to photos.

I recently visited my second cousin, May (my dad’s cousin) and she told me all sorts of things i would not have found out any other way. But it is not just about collecting names, dates and places it is also about collecting stories and May told me lots of them, some made me smile and some made me a little sad, but life goes on.

If you have a journal, a note book or anything that is written in your ancestors handwriting, keep it, keep it safe as you won’t be able to get it back if anything happens to it.

You can access a free Family History search website here. You can set up an account and add your family tree to the site. There is also free help available either through free calls, chats or you can send an email and they’ll get back to you and help if they can. All record searches are free but for access to some of the original documents you will an account. You can also add photos and stories too and although deceased relatives information is open to the public all information concerning living individuals can only be seen by the person who puts it on there in the first place.

Begin by gathering the information for four generations including you and then adding cousins all the way back and then when you have done that, if you are lucky you should have enough information to continue working backwards.

And if you need help let me know, i can talk about family history forever…

3 thoughts on “Day 11- Teach

  1. Bless you Beverley.. I know one side of our family history was once traced back to the 15 hundreds… the other side just disappeared without a trace in the 1800’s… 🙂 Lovely post x

  2. Thank you for sharing. My niece has been researching both her paternal and maternal family for the past four years. I am on the paternal side, and after DNA testing, she has identified the family’s African ancestral tribe before we were brought to America.

Leave a Reply

