Day 30 – First

Day 30 – First

meditationI wanted to write something really profound today, so i have waited all day to write, but maybe today is not the day for it?

I guess what i want to say is that no one no matter how much they love you will put you first, you really have to put yourself first. Now i am not saying that you should be mean and unkind to others, but when life throws things at you, which it is often does if you do not deal with them first before you reach out to others they will come back to get you in the end.

I have been meditating every night and some mornings since the first of the year. It was the only new year’s resolution that i made. I wanted to see what it would do for me, but to do that i had to put myself first – at least in that instance. I have found that by meditating every night i am beginning to know myself, not just as a physical being but also as a spiritual being too, which is something i have known for many years but have taking this knowledge for granted. About a month ago, although i have never ever put any goals or time on what i wanted to achieve through meditation, other than creating a quiet time, but a month ago i began seeing colours in my mind during meditation. I was unsure as to what they meant.

Now Buddhists would have you believe that these colours mean nothing and you should ignore them. However i began to research colours and meditation and i came up with Chakra healing. After an online mini quiz and some in-depth reading i came to realise that many if not all of my chakras were closed – basically my spirit had closed them to protect itself. But recently i have begun focusing on a certain chakra, that of the foot, to create a grounding for what will come next. My meditation as also become deeper and more meaningful, it is no longer a must do, but something i want to do.

Firstly we need to realise that if our bodies are in pain then it is telling us something important, but if we do not take the time to listen to it then we may never know what it is saying and therefore we will more than likely continue in the same vein as we are in, that of pain and fatigue. Now i am not saying that medication does not have a place it does, but to become completely dependant on it just shuts the body down and leaves the spirit cowering. Neither am i saying that i no longer have any pain or fatigue that is not so either, it is something i am working on day by day and you can too, but first you need to stop and listen and wait for i know the answer will come in time no matter what the question.

Is this profound enough? I don’t know!

4 thoughts on “Day 30 – First

  1. Physically, I feel 100% better since I began meditating more than two years ago. My pain flare-ups have lessened, stress levels are down, and the overall quality of my life has improved. I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis in 1993, followed by, one doctor’s, diagnosis of Fibromyalgia in 1996. Since this 1996 diagnosis, I have been treated by other doctors, primary care and rheumatologists, who disagree with the fibro diagnosis. Thank you for sharing. I now love ME. And, it took me a long time to fall in love with ME. I feel so much better loving ME today.

  2. I have been thinking of meditation a lot recently as for my diagnose I am still coming to terms with it and belief that fibromyalgia is real, the pain and the fatigue is real so hence the reason of meditation! But do I use that time to think about things? how do u meditate? I really enjoyed you blog today and read them religiously thank you xx

    1. Hi Bernice, Thank you for visiting. I have written a few posts on how to get started with meditation on my blog, but your point is a valid one – what do you do with your thoughts? When i began to meditate again back in January of this year i would find a few minutes of silence from outside noises but i did not try to stop my thoughts but just allowed them to come and go as they wished. In time i began to repeat the words ‘breath in, breath out’ in my mind as i breathed in and out, which gives the mind something to think about rather than the crazy life we are now having to live. It does not mean that i do not get distracted still, i do sometimes, but i say in my mind ‘thinking’ and then allow the thought to pass through and return to the breath. In time and practise it gets easier and your mind will begin to automatically follow the breath and not the thoughts. And i have found that even when the pain and fatigue are high that if i lay down comfortably and take my thoughts to the breath and not on the pain then as i do this the body relaxes and the pain becomes easier to bear. I hope that makes sense. In the beginning i could only remain still for a couple of minutes but now on good days my practise lasts around 15 minutes. Start small, think small and don’t get mad at your mind when it won’t shut up, it will in time, i promise. Pick a set time every day when you will practice, make sure you won’t be disturbed and sit or lay quietly and listen to what your body is telling you and only move forward when you are ready. if there is anything i can help with please let me know xx

  3. Big smiles here Beverley and you have come such a long ways along your self healing path.. Meditation helps heal as we work upon our energy centres.. Our Chakra’s are often blocked and not spinning correctly as we have wounded them with our emotional baggage we carry around with us..

    So good to see this post.. And yes it was Very Profound 🙂 <3.. Keep Hugging and Loving YOU! Your Worth it! as they say! 🙂 😉

Leave a Reply

