Day 4 – Looking Back, to Move Forward

Day 4 – Looking Back, to Move Forward

google.com_.LeanGoal2At the beginning of the year i set myself an array of goals that i wanted to accomplish by the end of the year and i thought this would be a good point to look back at them and see where i have got to with them. The one thought that i do have, even before i set to and read through them, is that, no matter how we plan life happens and when it does, it is almost as if we are not in control of it, but we like to think we are.

Goals

Life a Life of Purpose by – 

Relying on God more through daily prayer and scripture study. I think sometimes we can get lost in the world, thinking that what we really need in our lives is out there, but really it’s not. The home should be a place of safety where God resides and that is what i set out to do.

~ I have been reading about 1 chapter of the Old Testament every day for nearly 18 months and have now reached Psalms 103. Although some parts were tedious and hard work, there were others that fed me spiritually.

~ prayer is now a daily ritual, some times they are brief and some times they continue throughout the day and i am grateful to know that right now there are others that are praying for me too.

Create a morning routine. It goes something like this, but not all days are the same.

~ listen to one church talks (15mins)

~ read one chapter of The Book of Mormon

~ prayer

~ meditate

~ eat breakfast, drink water

~ yoga

Reading with passion and understanding. Me and books have this symbiotic relationship, where one goes then the other one goes too. Reading is already my passion, but i still do not take the time every day to just sit and read and i often find myself having to escaping to a coffee shop to read, as i am less distracted.

Eating. I gave up chocolate for a month and found that my body also gave up sugar and i found i need more fibre in my diet than fruit alone could give me and i needed to eat more vegetables and high fibre grains. Although i felt lighter i cannot say that i had less pain or that i was less fatigued. I found that once the 30 days were up, both chocolate and sugar have slowly crept back into my diet, although not as much as before, it is a constant battle.

Become financially secure. The house is still a work in progress. The original court date was adjourned, because the bank’s solicitors didn’t get their act together in time and so i am waiting on a new date. Social housing are still refusing to recognize me as homeless, although the law clearly show that i am and my solicitor is dealing with them. So it is still a waiting game.

Create a budget – I’ve written out a budget for several people recently, but i am still bad at keeping to it.

Savings account. One of my daughter’s had a really good idea and it is this: she transfers any money over the £10, £20, £30, etc mark from her currant account into her online savings account. She says that some times it is only a few pence, but in the end it all adds up. So i opened an online account and started to do the same. I am certainly not rich and will take me some time to be so, but i now have enough money in there for emergency food if for some reason the benefits office do not pay me when they are suppose to – oh, yes, it happens! and i really do not have any spare money, but now i have savings.

Making time for the things that i love. I have been reading a book called Stuffocation, by James Wallman, which to paraphrase him badly, he says that the way forward from materialism is not minimalism but experientialism or experiences. It brings to mind the scripture

“Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt,

and where thieves break through and steal:

But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt,

and where thieves do not break through nor steal:

21 For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” (Matthew 6:19-21)

There are so many beautiful and praiseworthy things in this world do we need yet another…???

Note: I am counting days for a reason, sorry i didn’t tell you why before i began, May 1st appeared to soon for me to get to it. I am counting days to 100 in faith and hope that by then my life will have moved on; physically, mentally, emotionally and praying for patience and strength to keep walking forward, without spending too much time looking back.

5 thoughts on “Day 4 – Looking Back, to Move Forward

    1. I am waiting on things including the house – if i move out of town it will change many things, but if i don’t then my address will change but little house and it is all taking soooooooo long it is tiresome. Love to you too Sue xxx

Leave a Reply

