Day 12 – What kind of person gets Fibro?

Day 12 – What kind of person gets Fibro?

bodypainI was reading a post of the Fibromyalgia forum this morning that asked that question. Normally i read lots, but rarely answer, as i find the whole thing depressing, rather then supportive, but today i wrote back and i thought i would share my reply here – 

What type of person gets Fibro?

A manic person. Who either has a manic life style where they never stop. Yet when they think back over the months or even years before they were diagnosed they will be able to pick out signs and symptoms when the body telling them to stop. They did not stop, because they felt they couldn’t – for every reason under the sun. But in the end the body stops them – us – me. Pain is the body’s warning system that something is wrong and yet we do not heed it’s call and think we are unstoppable, but then something happens and we have to stop and then the pain takes over and yet we continue to fight the pain, instead of accepting it. If we had been diagnosed with just about any other thing that was disabling us and causing us pain, we would stop and listen to our bodies, but it’s nothing – isn’t it?- it’s only Fibromyalgia!?!

I believe the only way to live with this condition is to stop, and listen and wait until the body is ready to get better itself and for some people that may never happen. Some will always live in the worse pain and hell possible. Some will learn to adapt and cope with the pain and some will get pass it and get their lives back. But first we have to grieve for that which was lost – ourselves!

What do i think causes it? Body stress. Whether that is physical, emotional or mental stress, which we allow to build up in our lives or which others cause in our lives and we cannot let go. We are born worriers. We worry about EVERYTHING and we cannot stop, even though we know we shouldn’t. Then there is the last straw, that doesn’t break the camel’s back but breaks our backs and yet we still continue to fight and stress and worry and keep asking the question – when? When? WHEN???

I think anyone can get Fibromyalgia, but those that don’t are those that allow life to float by them.

6 thoughts on “Day 12 – What kind of person gets Fibro?

  1. I don’t have fibromyalgia, Beverly, so I can’t comment on who gets it and why ~ only sufferers can know and feel that pain. But I do have osteo/rheumatoid arthritis and spondulosis and am recovering from PSTD following an accident at work. And, like you, I kept going and going ~ long after any ‘normal’ person would call it quits and give in to the pain and trauma. Eventually my body just gave up. I couldn’t get out of bed, concentrate on anything and I couldn’t have cared less what happened to me. Luckily I’ve pulled through ~ it took a long time but now I’m feeling more capable and positive every day. But my collapse destroyed my relationships with both my children as they seemed to think I was over~dramatising: after all it’s ‘only’ arthritis and a very small accident. PSTD ~ pah!
    I was shocked by their reaction, that they’ve kept me from seeing my grandchildren when that’s the one thing that would have cheered me up. But, actually they did me a huge favour because I realised that at the end of the day, you have to put yourself first and take care of yourself ~ you ARE worth it Beverly! (((Gentle Hugs)))

    1. Thank you Jacqueline for sharing your own illnesses. After reading about PTSD i feel that is part of my problem too, but as the Dr has the depression in her head it doesn’t seem they want to listen to this crazy lady :). I am grateful that my children do support me and if i asked them to appear right now because i needed them at least someone would come and the ones that live further away would appear as soon as they could make. I also have support of my one brother and his wife and at least one of my sisters for which i am grateful. I have also made friends with my mother, who would come although she is 84 and has not been well this last winter and struggles with old age things, but of course i don’t ask her to come. But at the end of the day there is only me. I live on my own with my lovely Jasper the cat, who got sick recently, but thankfully he is all better now. I have begun to walk 2000 steps a day. it’s actually not very far at all, but more about that tomorrow. Take care of yourself and thank you for your support xxx

      1. Keep up the good work, Beverly, you are doing really well, even if it’s only 2000 steps at a time!!! (Joking ~ I think that’s huge! ) I know exactly what you mean about doctors pre~judging you for depression. I’ve been through several courses of counselling throughout my life and with the last one, which was actually to do with the PSTD the THERAPIST said he thought I had depression and should take medication and asked if I had had any other mental health illnesses. I told him, quite sharply that I was there to prevent having to take medication and for my mental health WELLBEING!!! Despite all the so~called support on Social Media, depression, fibro, arthritis, CFS etc. are misunderstood and stigmatised. So glad you have the emotional and practical support of your family ~ and it’s therapeutic to write about it on your blog! ❤

  2. I don’t know why some do and some don’t Beverley, But it did make me nurture myself more.. And I agree with what Jacqueline says you have to put yourself first and look after yourself… sending Hugs ❤

  3. I can relate to some of this, but when I think about some people I personally know who have FM, it doesn’t apply to all of them. With me, the stress aspect definitely. But it was a minor bump in my car that triggered mine. The aches and pains just didn’t go away, and everything spiralled from there.
    I also think there is a strong genetic aspect as my mum had it, and her mother and grandmother had what was called fibrosis? back then.

    1. my mother has it too, but i think most people do have it, but it some kind of stress that triggers it, mine it elongated and complicated, but the camel was a fall downstairs. When my mother was diagnosed it was called none nodular rheumatoid arthritis about 35 years ago.

Leave a Reply

