It is that Time Again – 333

It is that Time Again – 333

I love this quote. It is something i tell my daughters all the time.
I love this quote. It is something i tell my daughters all the time.

The next round of the 333 Project begins tomorrow (1 October) are you ready to join in?

The 333 Project is the brain-child of Courtney Carver. It is simply; choose 33 items of clothing and accessories, including outer wear and shoes, but not including, sports clothes, night clothes and underwear and use only these items for 3 months.

On a deeper level is is about getting rid of all those items that you are hanging onto just in case – in case you need them, in case you lose weight, in case we experience another ice age and you need to layer-up, or just in case… (enter your own here).

I found the 333 Project when it was starting it’s second phase, back in January 2011. Back then I had the opposite problem with clothes, I had far two few, about 20 items, plus uniforms for work. I was in the ‘sack cloth and ashes phase of my life’. I had decided that clothes had a purpose and should be bought and used only for that purpose, which was to cover my nakedness and to keep me warm and that was it. All frilly, pretty, girl stuff was done away with. I lived mainly in jogging pants and tee-shirts, in basic colours and I didn’t care what other people thought. I still don’t care, but it feels good when someone says I look nice.

The 333 Project made me realise that i needed more clothes and since then, life has taught me that I am a woman and I am allowed to look pretty, if I want to. Now I have about 40 items in my closet, in all colours, but my main colour is navy. I don’t wear black. You might see me in grey occasionally, but never black.

What the 333 Project isn’t –

  • It isn’t about wearing all black, unless you want to.
  • It isn’t about being a martyr to the cause – if you lose 28lbs and nothing fits, replace, if something breaks or wears out, replace.
  • If 40 or even 50 or even 25 items suit your life style better, then have that many.

Recently I have replaced my winter shoes, my winter coat and several sweaters and other items too. You want to see in my wardrobe don’t you? One more thing that i have found helpful is having a coat hanger for each item, which helps me keep track of how many items i actually have, but we all find our own ways.

20150930_110817_resized (1)

One thought on “It is that Time Again – 333

  1. Good luck with your 333’s I would fail miserably.. i have not bought any new clothes in over two years though ๐Ÿ™‚ but did get treated for my Birthday to a new pair of shoes.. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love to mix, match, and shusssh.. but some of my clothes are over 15 yrs old.. And still in fashion and look good as new.. ๐Ÿ™‚ I do however give clothes and items to charity ๐Ÿ™‚
    Wishing you a great week
    Hugs Sue

Leave a Reply

