Book Pile – October

Book Pile – October

My Book Pile use to be large and disorderly, but I am trying to keep my Habit – of reading one book at a time. However it doesn’t stop me wanting to take home every good book in the book shop or buy several a month, but i am trying to be good on that too.

Read

betterthanbefore_gretchenrubinBetter Than Before: Mastering the Habits of Our Everyday Lives ~ Gretchen Rubin.

This is what i would call a ‘pottering’ book! Or in other words, a book that you ‘potter’ in and out of and never seem to get to the end. There is lots of well researched information in this book, teamed with helpful advice on how to set and master habits. Gretchen Rubin has now published a work book as well, although it is not available in the UK as yet, you can order on Amazon, which is what I did and it arrived within a couple of weeks at no extra cost. So it you want it, that might be worth doing.

betterthan before journal

To-Kill-a-Mockingbird-Vintage-ClassicsTo Kill A Mocking Bird ~Harper Lee.

This is my review from ‘Goodreads’ – “I thought I had read this book some time ago, but when I finally picked it up to read, for what I believed to be the second time, I realised I hadn’t actually read it at all.

I think this is a book of it’s time. Published originally in 1960 it won several awards and received quite a lot of acclaim. However if this book was published today I am not sure it would have the same impact or awards for that matter. The subject matter, a white lawyer defending a black man who is accused falsely of attacking and raping a white young woman no longer has the same negativity as it once had, even what happens to Tom Robinson took me by surprise. In fact today you couldn’t even call Tom Robinson the ‘black man’ he would just a convict.

The story contains lots of added characters that serve no purpose and the story line is patchy. The story follows the main characters Atticus Finch (the lawyer) and his children Jem and Jean Louise and Tom Robinson. Jem seems to age four years in the book, but Jean Louise seems to stay the same age, although there is four years between them. Atticus is an older father and there mother is deceased. The story is set in Maycomb County, Alabama in the 1930’s. They also seem to be several single ladies in the county, which seem to have nothing to do but twitter and have tea parties.

I want to keep saying – sorry, I don’t know! (And I still don’t know how I feel about this book)

life afterlifeLife After Life ~ Kate Atkinson.

This is the monthly local library book group read. A huge 620 pages of a book. The question is asked – what would you do if you lived the same life over and over? Ursula does just that! I don’t want to give too much of the story away, but Ursula first dies a birth, then shortly after birth, then when she is four years old and at the beginning of the book each she dies we relive her birth and her life up to that point. Thankfully as she gets older the story just goes back to a point just before she dies. My daughter asked me ‘how she dies in the end?’ Well…no you can read that in the book. It is set between 1910, when Ursula is born and 1970 when she retires from work.

The bad points of the book. It goes on too long. There is whole section while Ursula is living in Germany before the Second world war and meets Eva Braun and Hitler, which really doesn’t fit, is too long and I found myself skipping parts of it. To me there feels like an obvious end to the book, after one of Ursula’s deaths, but then the book continues to twice it’s length. Other than that it is a really good idea for a novel.

Reading

picture of dorian grayThe Picture of Dorian Gray ~ Oscar Wilde

Want to Read

annaAnna Karenina ~ Leo Tolstoy 

…and accept for the library book group read, I have a feeling that this book will take up all of my reading time from now till Christmas!

What are you reading and what are you planning to read next? Or maybe you don’t plan at all?

8 thoughts on “Book Pile – October

  1. Hmm…Gretchen Rubin has a workbook for her book now? I wonder if that might be something I could do for 2016… I’ll look into that. 🙂

    I’ve been meaning to re-read To Kill a Mockingbird soon. It’s been a few years ago since I read it; I’m sure I’ve forgotten most of it. And then I want to read her Watchman book after that.

    Good luck with Anna Karenina! It was a delightful read, but very, very long. 😉 The Russian names were killers for me. I had to look online for help in keeping them all straight.

    1. I have thought about reading Harper Lee’s new book, but i haven’t heard anything good about it, so not got there yet.
      As for Russian names they will become first initials, unless my brain can work them out, bad I know, but looking them all up in the internet might be useful.I will keep that idea in mind.

  2. Always love to see what you are reading… Hopefully I am getting back into the habit.. Reading the second time around Wayne Dyers.. Wishes Fulfilled at the moment.. nearly finished..

      1. I was trying to work out why I don’t like him, maybe that is a bit strong, don’t connect with him and I think it is because he starts to say things about God, then stops and waters it down to make it more palatable to the masses instead of the few. xxx

      2. His idea of God is perhaps not your idea of God, same as you know My idea of God.. 🙂 God is but a word we use to describe the Source of ALL Creation .. Which all of us are a part of.. each having that spark of God/Creation/ Creator within us.. He mentions God a lot in his books :-)..

      3. He does and i often feel he wants to say more. I don’t think there is anything wrong with what he writes, just not for me. xx

Leave a Reply

