Book Pile – November

Book Pile – November

I seem to have read lots, but finished very little in November, but it was the month I had decided to tackle the ‘big book’ Anna Karenina.

Read

dorian grayThe Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

One man’s desire to stay forever unblemished by time or the world, ends up with him losing his soul to vanity and murder.

 

 

 

 

Reading (lots)

annaAnna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. 

Everyone warned me it would take me months to read this book and I started reading it already overcome by the task, however I am already over half way through and I am passionately in love with it. A beautifully written book will always read well and quickly no matter how long it may be. Review to follow when I have finished it.

 

 

stepping into the wildernessStepping Into The Wilderness by Susan Carter Payne

This is a pre-published copy from Netgalley. Lovingly written short chapters are followed lots of ideas to help you develop what you have read into something that is not only beautiful, but also purposely built just for you. This is a dipping-in-and-out of book, rather than a reading from beginning to end book and as such it will take me some time to finish it.

 

circle of stones

The Circle of Stones~ A Woman’s Journey to Heal Herself by Judith Duerk

I have had this book on my bookcase since the beginning of the year, but was prompted to pick it up and I have not been disappointed, just wish I had picked it up earlier. There are two things about this book that you might like to know before you rush put and buy it; it is a dipping-in-and-out of book and I think you need to be in the right place on your life’s journey to really ‘get-it’, appreciate it beautiful words. Review to follow – eventually.

The Unknown Bridesmaid by Margaret Forster

unknown bridesmaidThis is the library book group read for the month of November and although not a bad book, I am struggling to give it time. This is the kind of book i would call a ‘Bank holiday book’ – you start it on Friday and you finish it on Monday and by Tuesday you will be on to something else forgetting what the book was all about. Being up against Anna K on my reading list doing it any favours either. Not a bad book for what should have been a quick read. Review to follow.

 

7 thoughts on “Book Pile – November

  1. I was reading Anna Karenina whilst on holiday in Spain a few years back and just couldn’t get into it at all. I think the Russian words and pronunciations kinda halted the flow of the reading. But I’m glad you like it x

  2. I tried Anna Karenina this year but found it rather slow going. Never mind, we all like different things. x

  3. I’m so glad you’re liking Anna Karenina! If we’re going to read a big book, it’s best to enjoy it (why else read it otherwise, right? ha, we’re no longer in school). I enjoyed it too, even though it was laborious at times to keep up with all the names.

    I finally ordered Gretchen Rubin’s book this week. I hope to go through it slowly in 2016!

    1. I decided long before I began reading Anna K that I would not pause to try and work out the Russian names, now in my mind some are as they are in the book and some have a English version of the same name, makes reading so much more smooth.
      I hope you enjoy Gretchen Rubin’s book as much as I did. I have shared my copy with my daughter, for now.

Leave a Reply

