Washing The Brain

Washing The Brain

washing the brainScientist may have come up with a reason why animals sleep, when in fact sleeping is dangerous, leaving them open to attacks by predators. They have decided that the brain only has two states, awake and working or asleep and cleaning. The lack of (deep) sleep may be the cause of brain disorders, such as Alzheimer Disease and Dementia. It may also be the reason for chronic pain and chronic fatigue conditions, such as Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.

This is my explanation of how it works: The sleeping brain allows the cerebral spinal fluid to wash the toxins that have built up while the brain is awake and working. This can only happen during sleep. Without sleep the brain remains a toxic waste dump. The brain is unable to function properly whilst this continues and it is thought that it can begin to create communication problems within the brain and between the brain and the body. (Read more bbc brain washing, for something more scientific here.)

For me, personally, this makes sense as to why my brain is miss-firing and my body often feels like it is being poisoned and out of all the crazy scientific ideas as to why Fibromyalgia and CFS occurs.

However, right now I am back experiencing night terrors. I have had them before and I do not know why they are back. Night terrors feel physically real. Feel more physical than nightmares; I often feel has if someone is in the flat, in my room or indeed in my bed or physically touching me. These are particularly frightening, especially as I live alone and although I know they are not real, they feel real. My brain does this kind of verbal dance; it’s real, you are in danger run away – it’s a dream – it’s real you’re in danger – it’s a dream, wake up – it’s real… – eventually my brain screams at me to wake up and eventually my brain hears it and I have to fight my way out of sleep and I then have to face my fear, which isn’t real, but my brain believes it is. So, I get out of bed, switch on the lights look in all the corners, have a drink and read a little and then switch off the lights and go back to bed. I have no idea why they have suddenly reappeared, but broken sleep is still broken sleep and it’s not good.

As broken sleep is often the cry of the Fibro/CFS sufferer, maybe this is the reason, but knowing the reason does not, unfortunately, provide a cure or even a successful treatment. However, deep sleep so important to the brain that this maybe the reason why I need to nap during the day and why when I do, even for an hour, I sleep better during the night.

  • What do you think?
  • Do you have or have you ever had nightmares or night terrors and how did you deal with them?
4 thoughts on “Washing The Brain

  1. I rarely dream and haven’t had a nightmare in years. Back then, occurrences were rare, I recall the nightmares were recurring ones of being locked and stranded in a dark basement, cave or dungeon.

  2. Sorry you are going through these experiences Beverley.. I am going through my own sleepless phase again right now…My dreams have been vivid but not nightmarish. I think it is the wind tonight keeping me awake, so hoped on here for a while 🙂 Sending love your way and hope you soon feel rested xx

Leave a Reply

