What Life Teaches Us

What Life Teaches Us

tumblr_static_life_can_be_unfair-41753

When I was a child I was often told that ‘life wasn’t fair, so get over it’. When I became a mother and my children would moan about life, I would often hear myself say ‘life isn’t fair, get over it.’ Now my children are grown life still feels unfair. Yet, is it really or is it my perception of the world that makes it seem unfair?

I am sure that people see me wandering around and wonder why I am not at work and think how unfair it is that they have to do so. And then again there are others I look at and think if only I could go to work, life would not feel so empty or lonely. We look at others and we judge them, this is an immediate instantaneous judgement and unfortunately this judgement is often wrong.

For instance; why is there a guy walking through the bus station in a dinner suit at 7am in the morning, face ashen, clothes wrinkled…just another party going heading home?

Well, he could have been!

However that was not the case. For this man had been out to dinner with friends when he had received a phone call from his father; ‘come quickly’ the call had said, before it’s too late.

In his need to unburden himself this young man sat in a drafty, cold bus station and explained how he had spent the night holding the hands of both his mother and father and his mother, quietly, slowly, silently passed from this life to the next. I felt honoured and saddened by his tail and some ten years later his words have stayed with me.

No, life is not fair, but it is always over long before we are ready for it to be so. So we should take this moment and hold it close to our hearts before it we too receive a call that say, ‘come quickly, before it’s too late.’

  • what wrong do you need to put right before it’s too late?
  • who’s hand do you need to hold?

A thought…do you feel that life is sometimes unfair?

4 thoughts on “What Life Teaches Us

  1. The moment we start thinking life is unfair, we have to look at the flip side of our life. Is it unfair I was born in the west with running water, with drinkable water? Unfair that I have never personally known war? And so on….my journey now is learning to embrace all that comes my way and to greet it as a friend, as Rumi says so beautifully.

    This being human is a guest house.
    Every morning a new arrival.

    A joy, a depression, a meanness,
    some momentary awareness comes
    As an unexpected visitor.

    Welcome and entertain them all!
    Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
    who violently sweep your house
    empty of its furniture,
    still treat each guest honorably.
    He may be clearing you out
    for some new delight.

    The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
    meet them at the door laughing,
    and invite them in.

    Be grateful for whoever comes,
    because each has been sent
    as a guide from beyond.

  2. Life might seem unfair at times, but it always is what we make of the current situation. Unfortunately, we all go through times of sadness, grief,and other uncomfortable emotions and situations. I try to look for the lesson in them, and it also helps me take notice of my blessings. Sure, I don’t enjoy those difficult times but I allow myself to move through them.
    Josh posts a wonderful reply and poem.

  3. I admit I sometimes think life isn’t fair, as much for other people as for myself. Why do some people seem to have all the trouble? It’s not fair to them. I’m so grateful to have been born at this time in history and in this place when I could have been born in MUCH rougher times and places. Then I get sick again and I fall into self-pity that it’s not fair that I now have a UTI. ha. This is a difficult topic but you addressed it “fairly.” 🙂

    1. I have come to the conclusion that life isn’t fair for anyone, at least some of the time. Even though these should be better times for everyone, unfortunately it isn’t so. Thanks for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

