A Plea To My Sisters

A Plea To My Sisters

mormon-Women-Temple3-2Last week I was asked if I would teach in the Women’s meeting, yesterday, to which, I happily said yes. The Lesson was talking from a talk by President Russell M Nelson (President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles), given in Semi-Annual Church General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, in October 2015. It was titled ‘A Plea To My Sisters.’ (You can read, listen or watch the rest here a plea to my sisters.) I loved this talk, the sweetness of the words as they settle within my heart that I have chosen to share, in part, the lesson I gave yesterday.

The scriptures teach us that “we are the offspring of God”(Acts 17:29). God referred to Emma Smith, wife of the Prophet Joseph Smith, as “my daughter” (D&C 25:1). The family proclamation teaches us that we are each “a beloved spirit …daughter of heavenly parents.” (Visiting Teacher message, April 2016, Daughters of Our Eternal Father)
How do you feel knowing that you are a daughter of God?

Sadly far too many women in the world do not know that simple fact, which by knowing would improve their outlook on life and how they see themselves in the world and part of Heavenly Father’s plan.

Personal testimony – after Danielle died I had a problem praying, but yet, I know the one thing that I needed was the Lord’s help. I thought I understood death and the Atonement, but my knowledge lacked the strength of testimony that I needed to begin to heal. I asked others to pray for me, so I did not lack the faith I needed, but I wanted/needed to understand the why? I would often leave the house to walk in a nearby park, where the Primary song, ‘A Child’s Prayer’ would repeat in my mind ~ Father are you there, do you hear and answer every child’s prayer…then one day as I walked instead of hearing …Pray He is there, speak He is listening… I heard instead ‘Yes, daughter, I am here, I am listening…I poured my heart out to a Heavenly Father that loved me and I knew he was listening.

Between the April and November 2015 General Conferences, three of the brethren passed away; Elder Tom L Perry, Elder Boyd K Packer and Elder Richard G Scott. In his talk President Nelson shared his feelings of their passing, how much it saddened him and how much he missed them. He then went on to talk about their wives and then to share a number of experiences, each one showing his great love for the Sisters of the church and the qualities they showed even in times of severe adversity.

From these experiences came a list of qualities that these Sisters demonstrated, these are all qualities that a loving Heavenly Father want for his daughter –
love, truth, faith, peace, tranquillity, angelic, devotion, strength, courage, covenant keeping, righteousness, articulateness, happy, organized, can organize, executive abilities, plan, direct, administer, teach, speak out, gift of discernment, intuition, gifts from God. Heavenly Father wants all his daughters to demonstrate these qualities and he will help them to do so through his love for them.

President Nelson goes on – Today, let me add that we need women who know how to make important things happen by their faith and who are courageous defenders of morality and families in a sin-sick world. We need women who are devoted to shepherding God’s children along the covenant path toward exaltation; women who know how to receive personal revelation, who understand the power and peace of the temple endowment; women who know how to call upon the powers of heaven to protect and strengthen children and families; women who teach fearlessly.

President Nelson continues…
Attacks against the Church, its doctrine, and our way of life are going to increase. Because of this, we need women who have a bedrock understanding of the doctrine of Christ and who will use that understanding to teach and help raise a sin-resistant generation. We need women who can detect deception in all of its forms. We need women who know how to access the power that God makes available to covenant keepers and who express their beliefs with confidence and charity. We need women who have the courage and vision of our Mother Eve.

So today I plead with my sisters of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints to step forward! Take your rightful and needful place in your home, in your community, and in the kingdom of God—more than you ever have before. I plead with you to fulfill President Kimball’s prophecy. And I promise you in the name of Jesus Christ that as you do so, the Holy Ghost will magnify your influence in an unprecedented way!

How can we develop these qualities within ourselves? Do you believe that Heavenly Father wants just some of his daughters to have these qualities?

3 thoughts on “A Plea To My Sisters

  1. Wonderful that you were asked to speak.. and great lessons within the words.. And yes we are all ONE, equal among brothers .. We are all of us worth of such qualities dear Beverley.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

