Boredom

Boredom

shamrock-chrysanthemum1The other day I asked a friend what they do when they get bored? They answered, that they rarely got bored!

Now they do have a very crazy, but busy job, he is a conductor at a ballet company and he is often in a different city or even country from week to week. Yes, I can see why he wouldn’t get bored!

However, I am often bored. I am bored not because I have nothing to do, but usually because I have things to do, but I can’t be bothered to do what I need to do. I’m very good at putting things off, a definite procrastinator!

We are all different, however being bored sometimes is actually a good thing and we should make time in our busy schedules to be bored. ‘To be bored is to be unafraid of our interior lives- a form of moral courage central to being really human.’ We are so busy these days that to do nothing is almost not permitted to be bored, but we should not only allow ourselves to be bored, we should give our children to be bored too.

So what do I do when I’m bored? Well that’s easy- I go to sleep! Or I might read, but that takes to much thought and energy.

What do you do when you’re bored?

2 thoughts on “Boredom

  1. Sleep is also a way in which we connect to our inner selves, so this time is being well spent.. πŸ™‚ and I too never hardly ever can say I am bored.. If I am at a lose end.. I now pick up the guitar πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

