What are Values?

What are Values?

26_bwa_WIDE_VALUES_NEWYesterday, while in the bookshop i was browsing through a book that was happiness. One of the things it was saying was that if we live our values we will be happy…

Then i came home, read a post that was talking about a similar theme – if we stick to our values we will be happy…

And then today, i was talking with on of my daughters about the same thing and she replied, ‘yes, but what are values?’

For my daughter and for all those who are wondering, a value is –

(noun)

  • the regard that something is held to deserve; the importance, worth, or usefulness of something.
  • principles or standards of behaviour; one’s judgement of what is important in life

(verb)

  • of monetary value
  • consider to be important or beneficial; have a high opinion of.

(google search)

Putting aside the definition of Value being ‘of monetary value’ i began to wondering about what i Valued! For value to have any meaning there needs to be an opposite to Value or indeed a marker, an idea or and experience or a belief that we mark how we see Value.

I then began to ponder about ‘what was of so great a value to me that i would not give it up?’ I would not for instance, deny that there is a God, even if i lost life in holding to that particular value. I would not deny God if my children would lose their lives, that is based on the fact that i know that life is eternal and this life is but a short moment. Faced with reality things may be different of course, but right now I value nothing more than my faith in Him, my knowledge of him and His influence in my life.

Next would be my children’s life. If it was my life for their, I would certainly give it no doubt at all. That goes for in-laws and granddaughters too.

I value my Integrity. Now integrity is another one of those words that have gone out of fashion these days and when used many people acquire that blank-stare-look of not knowing, but believing they should. To me Integrity is living my life in the same way whether i am in private or in public.

Dwight D. Eisenhower said: “The supreme quality for leadership is unquestionably integrity. Without it, no real success is possible, no matter whether it is on a section gang, a football field, in an army, or in an office.” 

How true?

People need to know who you are. They need to have confidence in you. They need to believe that when you say you will, you will and likewise when you say you won’t, you won’t or indeed don’t.

I Value having a Home. I have been homeless three times in my life, but thankfully because of true friends i have lived on the streets. I know that i live where i do because God made it so and the flat is so perfect it had to be because of divine intervention.

I Value;

  • Friendship when it comes and it is good it is of greater value
  • Honesty
  • Forgiveness
  • Understanding
  • Compassion…to name but a few.

I am not perfect in these things. There are times when i get lost in the world and forget i have value too. But, nowhere in my values is there one that says i value wealth, a big house, fancy car, travelling the world. There are many beautiful things in this world, some in nature and some man-made, but they all have value.

When we accept our own values we will become better at understanding others too.

  • Do you know what your values are?
  • is there a point where you would sacrifice your life for what you value?
  • Is there space in our lives for things of monetary value?
One thought on “What are Values?

Leave a Reply

