Cancerian

Cancerian

This was written from a prompt – By the Sea…

cabba-ccdbb-efdcj-ih_thumbCancerian by birth and Cancerian by nature. I am governed by the sea, the tides and the moon. It is by water that I find peace to my soul. But, like a crab, my birth sign, I scuttle sideways at life, trying to avoid anything and everything that appears to be different or indeed dangerous. It is not unheard of truth, that you will often find me hiding under a rock, peering warily out at you, at the world or even at the universe. Wanting you to see me, but anxiously hoping you don’t!

Like a crab, I appear to be hard and tough, but I can assure you it is only my outer shell, my outer self, my need for preservation that you are seeing. For, inside, you see, I am soft and squishy. If you have enough patient to sit by my rock or ever so slowly crawl underneath my rock and sit quietly by my side, you will in time come to realise that I am less hard-shell and more squishy-hearted than you ever imagined. Sit still, be quiet and if you are lucky I will extend my pincer of friendship towards you, and you can bet that when and if I do, I mean ‘friend for life.’ Even if you decide to walk away, I will still be here, sitting patiently, waiting, pincer out stretched in case you decide to come back – Because that it just what I do!

And if you make me cry, it will not be because you have broken through my shell from the outside, but that, I let you inside my shell where the squishy bits are – and you broke my shell from the inside-out. Each broken shell makes me stronger and warier and less trusting. However, do not take my quiet, gentle nature as the nature of a fool, for that right-pincer is sharper than it looks and the next time you amble idly by and do not see me hiding under my rock peering out at the world, beware, for you may lose a toe, or a foot or even a leg!!!

Leave a Reply

